So You Think I’m Normal

Keep Calm and Don't Be Such a Drama Queen // Alpha Beta Pie

One of my darling friends said the strangest thing to me a few days ago.

“But you’re so normal!”

She was referring to how well-adjusted I look compared with the soap-opera life I’ve had the last decade or so.

I was flabbergasted at her statement. I don’t see myself as normal, well-adjusted, or even on my way to those things. I laughed when she said that.

I’m far from normal.

Are You Normal? No! coaster by Edward Monkton

I’m prone to a victim mentality, depression, anxiety and panic attacks, and melodrama. I have bouts where I feel like I’m hiding my journey in order to minimize the appearance of being a drama queen.

But I’m done hiding.

That thing you see, that thing that makes me look normal?

That’s not me.

Galatians 2:20 // Northpointe Community Church

That’s Christ’s overwhelming, all-powerful work in me.

If you could see the broken person I used to be – the person I still am – you would shake your head in amazement. If you had told me I would look, feel, and be as normal as I do today, I would have laughed at you then too.

This isn’t a mask or hiding or pretending.

It’s the Almighty God changing me from who I was into a Christ follower.

It didn’t happen overnight, and it certainly won’t end any time soon, but it’s often just one step in front of another – one prayer after another.

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
The courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

-The Serenity Prayer

Share your thoughts

