Dust and Dusting

Not my house. Source: http://www.sxc.hu/photo/849478

I hate dust.

I also hate dusting.

Therefore, my house is always full of dust.

Thinking about little particles floating through the air on a daily basis – with every breath I take – is pretty gross.

Sure, it makes for pretty pictures when the sunlight streams through the air…

Source: http://www.sxc.hu/photo/1030400

But seriously, it’s still gross.

And yet, I rarely do anything about it.

I let it collect, coating every surface, until I can’t stand it anymore, and then I swipe it away in frustration and disgust.

I just kind of let it be. Live and let live, to use a phrase, although dust is usually (hopefully) past its stage of living.

Until today, I’ve never really thought about the dust in my house before. (Which, you know, is not necessarily good thing when living with an asthmatic…)

And then I read Anna’s most recent blog post, What If, and she used this fantastic phrase:

He makes beautiful things out of dust.

I was dumbstruck.

The dust in my house, the dust I hate thinking about, and I really can’t stand thinking about maybe being alive…is what God used to make us.

Then the Lord God formed a man from the dust of the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living being.
Genesis 2:7 (NIV)

I’ve been thinking about dust the wrong way. It’s an intrusion…but it’s also the basic building block of humanity. That, and God’s breath of life.

By the sweat of your brow you will eat your food until you return to the ground, since from it you were taken; for dust you are and to dust you will return.
Genesis 3:19

Dust isn’t what I thought it was. It’s life, and death, and now, and then, and forever, and a speck for a moment.

When God talks about us returning to dust, it’s in the context of the curse of sin. It’s also a simple daily reminder from now until eternity that God can make life out of anything.

If he can make a person out of dust, I don’t need to worry about my life because God cares about dust…and he cares so much more about me.

That’s freeing.

So the next time you move something and sneeze, or get annoyed with that blanket of grey stuff, remember this:

If God can make you out of dust, never doubt that he can make you, his treasured child, something even greater.

Source: http://www.sxc.hu/photo/980736

2 thoughts on “Dust and Dusting

Share your thoughts

