One Thousand Tweets

One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp

One of the beautiful side effects of cutting TV from my life for 40 days is that I actually allow myself the time and space to read.

Last week’s snow day was a perfect example of what can happen if I simply step aside from my life as it is, and allow my life to be what I need it to be.

When I first received the book as a gift more than a year ago, I read the first chapter or so of Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts, but this week I sat down and read it. I couldn’t stop, and honestly didn’t want to either.

Ann’s story of tragedy and the redeeming power of being thankful is contagious in this book.

While I haven’t finished it yet, I mulled many times this week over her words and digest the idea of eucharisteo more fully.

Overcome The Lie

At the same time, I have been using Twitter more often to keep up with the Overcome The Lie community. It has taken me close to three years on Twitter to find a niche that is engaged plus genuine new friends that are both uplifting and amazing.

As a result of this surge in using Twitter, I’m finally creeping up on the 1000th tweet mark.

I don’t believe in coincidences.

So in addition to the OTL 40-day Challenge reading the daily messages about God as our Father, fasting from TV, spending time in prayer, and finishing up some languishing projects, I’m going to begin tweeting my way to 1000 everyday gifts.

I’ll be using a pretty simple system: using the hashtag #1000joys and a number, I’m accepting the One Thousand Gifts dare to “Live Fully Right Where You Are” and will tweet it for you to read or not, as you choose.

Every week or so, I’ll do a round-up post of the newest ones with a full listing after I’ve hit 1000.

It’s a small step to getting my life more aligned with joy, peace, and patience – several of the places I struggle in. I’m trying to not only think about, but live out, this giving of thanks:

Charis. Grace.

Eucharisteo. Thanksgiving.

Chara. Joy.

One Thousand Gifts, page 33

If you want to join me, start your own list of 1000joys on Twitter, Facebook, or other social media. I’d love to hear about it on Twitter, in an emailor comment below!

Share your thoughts

